Text-Only Website

Moore places fifth on 3-meter board, earns All-American status during opening day of NCAA Division II Championships

CANTON, Ohio – Colorado School of Mines' Sarah Moore finished fifth in the women's 3-meter diving finals and earned All-American recognition during the opening day of competition at the NCAA Division II Swimming & Diving Championships (hosted by Lock Haven University) on Wednesday, March 10th, at C.T. Branin Natatorium.

CLICK HERE for Wednesday's results.

Moore, who was selected as the Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference (RMAC) Female Athlete of the Month in February, registered a score of 424.50 in the 3-meter finals.  In the process, she became the CSM swimming & diving program's first All-American since former Oredigger Travis Kummer earned such recognition in four events (100 breaststroke, 200 IM, 200 breaststroke, 100 fly) in 2005.

At the RMAC Swimming & Diving Championships in February, Moore established new RMAC records on both the 1-meter (408.90) and 3-meter (474.10) boards while winning both events.  Moore went on garner Women's Diver of the Meet laurels at the RMAC Championships.  A First Team All-RMAC performer in both the 1-meter and 3-meter events, Moore was selected as the RMAC Women's Diver of the Year.  Moore was selected as the RMAC Women's Diver of the Week on six occasions (Oct. 14, Oct. 21, Oct. 28, Nov. 11, Nov. 25 and Jan. 27) during the 2009-10 season.

Angel Forsling (200 IM prelims; 36th place) and Kevin Shaw (200 IM prelims; 25th place - 1:54.09) also competed for CSM during the first day of competition on Wednesday.  Forsling's time of  2:10.43 in the 200 IM was a new school record, eclipsing the previous mark of 2:12.30 (Holly Daugherty, 2000).

Earlier this week, Forsling received the Elite 88 Award for NCAA Division II women’s swimming & diving.  The Elite 88 Award is presented to the student-athlete with the highest cumulative GPA participating at the finals site for each of the NCAA’s 88 championships at the Division I, II and III levels.

Shaw (400 IM) and Jesse Dennis (1-meter diving) will compete for CSM on Thursday.

On Friday, Forsling (100 breaststroke), Moore (1-meter diving) and Andrew Zerwick (100 backstroke) will compete for Mines.

Forsling (200 breaststroke), Shaw (200 breaststroke) and Zerwick (200 backstroke) are all slated to compete for the Orediggers during the final day of competition.  Dennis will be an alternate in Saturday's 3-meter diving event.


View: Mobile | Desktop